News & Events

News & Events


Ortega Announced as George V. Powell Diversity Scholarship Winner

Bookmark and Share

Reuben J. Ortega has been named the 2008 winner of the Lane Powell George V. Powell Diversity Scholarship Award. He currently attends the University of Iowa College of Law and expects to complete his Juris Doctor in May 2009.

Reuben’s numerous activities include serving as vice president of the Iowa Chapter of the J. Reuben Clark Law Society and belonging to the Latino Law Student Association. He earned his B.S. from Brigham Young University.

Lane Powell’s Diversity Scholarship Program awards a second-year law student a substantial academic scholarship for the student’s third-year law school tuition and expenses, in addition to a paid summer associate position in either the Seattle or Portland office for the summer immediately following the student’s successful completion of their second year of law school. Students can be from any American Bar Association accredited law school. The first of these scholarships was awarded in the summer of 2005.