Practices & Industries

Practices

Cannabis

Abbott, Barry A.

Abbott, Barry A.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7988
abbottb@lanepowell.com
Anderson, Heidi C.

Anderson, Heidi C.

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.2550
andersonh@lanepowell.com
Bader, Jeremy R.

Bader, Jeremy R.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2131
baderj@lanepowell.com
Bashford, Jonathon

Bashford, Jonathon

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.7127
bashfordj@lanepowell.com
Baylous, Michael B.

Baylous, Michael B.

Attorney
Anchorage
907.264.3303
baylousm@lanepowell.com
Bodine, Brian G.

Bodine, Brian G.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7406
bodineb@lanepowell.com
Brecht, Jeff C.D.

Brecht, Jeff C.D.

Counsel to the Firm
Portland
503.778.2162
brechtj@lanepowell.com
Brown, Jane E.

Brown, Jane E.

Counsel to the Firm
Seattle
206.223.7126
brownje@lanepowell.com
Claman, Matthew W.

Claman, Matthew W.

Counsel to the Firm
Anchorage
907.264.3311
clamanm@lanepowell.com
Davis, Paige L.

Davis, Paige L.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7137
davisp@lanepowell.com
Dwyer, Michael D.

Dwyer, Michael D.

Counsel to the Firm
Seattle
206.223.7057
dwyerm@lanepowell.com
Edwards, Scott M.

Edwards, Scott M.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7010
edwardss@lanepowell.com
Engbloom, Julie M.

Engbloom, Julie M.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2183
engbloomj@lanepowell.com
Greenman, Joseph M.

Greenman, Joseph M.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2101
greenmanj@lanepowell.com
Grohman, Thomas F.

Grohman, Thomas F.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7044
grohmant@lanepowell.com
Hobson, Justin E.

Hobson, Justin E.

Attorney
Portland
503.778.2136
hobsonj@lanepowell.com
Horowitz, Lewis M.

Horowitz, Lewis M.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7401
horowitzl@lanepowell.com
Hosenpud, David G.

Hosenpud, David G.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2141
hosenpudd@lanepowell.com
Hudson, Charles F.

Hudson, Charles F.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2178
hudsonc@lanepowell.com
Jagla, Frances M.

Jagla, Frances M.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7749
jaglaf@lanepowell.com
Lin, William W.

Lin, William W.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7982
linw@lanepowell.com
Lipscomb, Kelly M.

Lipscomb, Kelly M.

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.7078
lipscombk@lanepowell.com
Mehrbani, Parna A.

Mehrbani, Parna A.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2127
mehrbanip@lanepowell.com
Nesteroff, Michael A.

Nesteroff, Michael A.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.6242
nesteroffm@lanepowell.com
Poplawski, Lisa D.

Poplawski, Lisa D.

Attorney
Portland
503.778.2164
poplawskil@lanepowell.com
Robinson, Joan E.

Robinson, Joan E.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.6277
robinsonj@lanepowell.com
Spellman, David C.

Spellman, David C.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7392
spellmand@lanepowell.com
Spelman, Katherine C.

Spelman, Katherine C.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7271
spelmank@lanepowell.com
Tran-Caffee, Cozette

Tran-Caffee, Cozette

Attorney
Portland
503.778.2108
trancaffeec@lanepowell.com
Wesner, Gregory F.

Wesner, Gregory F.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7272
wesnerg@lanepowell.com

Throughout its 140 years, Lane Powell has embraced change. The cannabis landscape is changing and Lane Powell is helping lead that change.* We know cannabis businesses have unique needs and are proud to use our vast array of experience  to help legal cannabis businesses in the Northwest navigate a complex regulatory environment. We have an interdisciplinary team to address your needs, whether you are a producer, seller, investor, property owner, insurer or developer bringing new products into the market.

We can help you:

  • If you are a startup, a Fortune 500 company, an innovator or investor;
  • If you are a licensed producer, processor, retailer; or
  • If you are contracting with a licensed marijuana business.

We monitor developments in the law, maintain close ties with regulators and anticipate the impact of proposed rule changes to our clients’ businesses. Our interdisciplinary team includes a myriad of legal talents providing services such as compliance strategies, business transactions and solutions, real estate, employment practices, trademark procurement and brand protection, plant and process patents, dispute resolution, issues affecting long-term care facilities, and sophisticated state and federal tax counseling.

Detailed Service Offerings

Our team leverages your assets; develops forward-looking, scalable solutions through planning, prioritizing and process-building, with the goal of helping you achieve long-term success in the cannabis landscape. We provide strategic, focused counsel in all areas, including:

Business

  • Supply, consulting, leasing and other contracts into the cannabis space;
  • Entity formation and strategies for state and federal taxes, investments and banking;
  • Finance and investor relations;
  • Channel distribution and retail management;
  • Information technology, privacy, data management and protection;
  • Formulate and execute efficient tax strategies;
  • Counsel employers on policies, testing and workers’ compensation; and
  • Counsel businesses facing tax and regulatory audits, including Internal Revenue Code section 280E and FinCEN Form 8300.

Regulatory Counseling

  • Licensing for recreational marijuana production, processing, wholesale, retail sale and testing;
  • Navigating state and local regulations;
  • Compliance with licensing, labeling and packaging laws;
  • Compliance with production, labeling, packaging, and safety requirements; and
  • Compliance with federal banking and anti-money laundering laws.

Trademarks and Protecting Your Brand

  • Trademark selection and clearance;
  • State and federal registration strategies;
  • Brand management, including business names, trademarks, service marks, logos, slogans, trade dress, domain names and licensing;
  • Negotiate and draft contracts related to advertising, promotion and marketing of your brand, including licenses and vendor agreements; and
  • Develop, protect and enforce trademark rights within the current limitations of federal protection.

Land Use/Real Estate

  • Infrastructure management and planning on siting, land use, agribusiness, water rights and construction;
  • Negotiate commercial leases, which often contain cannabis-restrictive provisions;
  • Assess land use requirements and zoning issues;
  • Determine water rights and utility issues; and
  • Analyze seizure concerns.

Lane Powell is your single source for all your legal needs.  Lane Powell is changing the business of cannabis law. Contact one of our team members.

*A Note Regarding Federal Law

Lane Powell provides counsel on Alaska, Oregon and Washington state laws governing cannabis to ensure compliance with the applicable state law. Federal law currently conflicts with state laws, and compliance with state law does not confer immunity from federal enforcement policies. The possession, distribution, and manufacture of marijuana and marijuana-based products are illegal under federal law, regardless of state law which may, in some jurisdictions, decriminalize such activity under certain circumstances. Although the U.S. Department of Justice has noted that an effective state regulatory system, and compliance with such a system, should be considered in the exercise of its investigative and prosecutorial discretion, its authority to prosecute violations of federal law is not diminished by the passage of state laws that may permit such activity. At any time, law and policy may change either to enhance or inhibit the industry.

Cannabis

Abbott, Barry A.

Abbott, Barry A.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7988
abbottb@lanepowell.com
Anderson, Heidi C.

Anderson, Heidi C.

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.2550
andersonh@lanepowell.com
Bader, Jeremy R.

Bader, Jeremy R.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2131
baderj@lanepowell.com
Bashford, Jonathon

Bashford, Jonathon

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.7127
bashfordj@lanepowell.com
Baylous, Michael B.

Baylous, Michael B.

Attorney
Anchorage
907.264.3303
baylousm@lanepowell.com
Bodine, Brian G.

Bodine, Brian G.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7406
bodineb@lanepowell.com
Brecht, Jeff C.D.

Brecht, Jeff C.D.

Counsel to the Firm
Portland
503.778.2162
brechtj@lanepowell.com
Brown, Jane E.

Brown, Jane E.

Counsel to the Firm
Seattle
206.223.7126
brownje@lanepowell.com
Claman, Matthew W.

Claman, Matthew W.

Counsel to the Firm
Anchorage
907.264.3311
clamanm@lanepowell.com
Davis, Paige L.

Davis, Paige L.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7137
davisp@lanepowell.com
Dwyer, Michael D.

Dwyer, Michael D.

Counsel to the Firm
Seattle
206.223.7057
dwyerm@lanepowell.com
Edwards, Scott M.

Edwards, Scott M.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7010
edwardss@lanepowell.com
Engbloom, Julie M.

Engbloom, Julie M.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2183
engbloomj@lanepowell.com
Greenman, Joseph M.

Greenman, Joseph M.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2101
greenmanj@lanepowell.com
Grohman, Thomas F.

Grohman, Thomas F.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7044
grohmant@lanepowell.com
Hobson, Justin E.

Hobson, Justin E.

Attorney
Portland
503.778.2136
hobsonj@lanepowell.com
Horowitz, Lewis M.

Horowitz, Lewis M.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7401
horowitzl@lanepowell.com
Hosenpud, David G.

Hosenpud, David G.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2141
hosenpudd@lanepowell.com
Hudson, Charles F.

Hudson, Charles F.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2178
hudsonc@lanepowell.com
Jagla, Frances M.

Jagla, Frances M.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7749
jaglaf@lanepowell.com
Lin, William W.

Lin, William W.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7982
linw@lanepowell.com
Lipscomb, Kelly M.

Lipscomb, Kelly M.

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.7078
lipscombk@lanepowell.com
Mehrbani, Parna A.

Mehrbani, Parna A.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2127
mehrbanip@lanepowell.com
Nesteroff, Michael A.

Nesteroff, Michael A.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.6242
nesteroffm@lanepowell.com
Poplawski, Lisa D.

Poplawski, Lisa D.

Attorney
Portland
503.778.2164
poplawskil@lanepowell.com
Robinson, Joan E.

Robinson, Joan E.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.6277
robinsonj@lanepowell.com
Spellman, David C.

Spellman, David C.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7392
spellmand@lanepowell.com
Spelman, Katherine C.

Spelman, Katherine C.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7271
spelmank@lanepowell.com
Tran-Caffee, Cozette

Tran-Caffee, Cozette

Attorney
Portland
503.778.2108
trancaffeec@lanepowell.com
Wesner, Gregory F.

Wesner, Gregory F.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7272
wesnerg@lanepowell.com

Cannabis

Date
09.07.2016
09.01.2016
08.15.2016
08.15.2016
08.05.2016
07.22.2016
07.15.2016
07.08.2016
07.01.2016
06.24.2016
06.15.2016
06.15.2016
05.09.2016
12.11.2015