Practices & Industries

Practices

Securities Litigation

Beneski, Kristin

Beneski, Kristin

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.7075
beneskik@lanepowell.com
Calo, Robert R.

Calo, Robert R.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2104
calor@lanepowell.com
Davis, Claire Loebs

Davis, Claire Loebs

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7060
davisc@lanepowell.com
Devlin, John S. III

Devlin, John S. III

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.6280
devlinj@lanepowell.com
Downs, Jacob M.

Downs, Jacob M.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7397
downsj@lanepowell.com
Eggum, Susan K.

Eggum, Susan K.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2175
eggums@lanepowell.com
Engbloom, Julie M.

Engbloom, Julie M.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2183
engbloomj@lanepowell.com
Englund, Rudy A.

Englund, Rudy A.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7042
englundr@lanepowell.com
Friedman, Ronald J.

Friedman, Ronald J.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7032
friedmanr@lanepowell.com
Gangnes, Larry S.

Gangnes, Larry S.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7036
gangnesl@lanepowell.com
Greene, Douglas W.

Greene, Douglas W.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.6103
greened@lanepowell.com
Hawkes, Peter

Hawkes, Peter

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2165
hawkesp@lanepowell.com
Larsen, Janet Knauss

Larsen, Janet Knauss

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2154
larsenj@lanepowell.com
Marquez-Garrett, Laura

Marquez-Garrett, Laura

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.6246
marquezgarrettl@lanepowell.com
McBride, Ryan P.

McBride, Ryan P.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7962
mcbrider@lanepowell.com
Morgan, Michael E.

Morgan, Michael E.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7013
morganm@lanepowell.com
Neeleman, John R.

Neeleman, John R.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7985
neelemanj@lanepowell.com
Nesteroff, Michael A.

Nesteroff, Michael A.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.6242
nesteroffm@lanepowell.com
Petranovich, Milo

Petranovich, Milo

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2114
petranovichm@lanepowell.com
Spellman, David C.

Spellman, David C.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7392
spellmand@lanepowell.com
Stark, Anthony M.

Stark, Anthony M.

Attorney
Portland
503.778.2185
starka@lanepowell.com
Urbach, Tanya Durkee

Urbach, Tanya Durkee

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2125
durkeet@lanepowell.com
Walder, Jessica N.

Walder, Jessica N.

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.6282
walderj@lanepowell.com
Wells, Christopher B.

Wells, Christopher B.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7084
wellsc@lanepowell.com
Wilson, Erin M.

Wilson, Erin M.

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.7432
wilsonem@lanepowell.com

Lane Powell’s Securities Litigation Group handles the full spectrum of securities and corporate governance litigation, including:

  • Securities class actions
  • Individual, non-class securities actions
  • Shareholder derivative actions
  • Shareholder challenges to mergers and acquisitions
  • Contests for corporate control
  • Disputes between parties to a merger or acquisition
  • SEC and DOJ investigations and enforcement actions
  • Internal corporate investigations, including representation of independent committees of boards of directors

Our securities litigators are among the most respected and experienced practitioners in the profession.  Our Firm has a culture of hands-on case management, so our partners closely supervise and actively work on our cases.  We were recently ranked the second busiest securities practice in the nation, as published in the Law360 Litigation Almanac.  We have also been highly ranked in the U.S. News and Best Lawyers annual “Best Law Firms” survey.  We founded and publish the blog D&O Discourse, the first and only opinion-based blog written from a securities litigation defense perspective.

Lane Powell is “Your Pacific Northwest Law Firm®,” and we maintain a Northwest culture of client service, and Northwest economics.  But our geography does not limit the reach of our practices.  Our securities litigation practice is a good example.  We serve a wide range of clients in litigation around the country.  Our clients are attracted to our unique value proposition, combining excellence and experience with a reasonable cost structure and a common-sense approach to case management.  This approach includes the opportunity for clients to select from alternate pricing models; a streamlined litigation process that cuts out needless and repetitive work; and a commitment to forcing plaintiffs’ lawyers to prove their case, rather than — as they so often do — being able to rely on baseless accusations to achieve easy settlements against honest companies.

Our securities litigators have defended companies such as Alltel, Amazon.com, Ambassadors Group, Boeing, Cell Therapeutics, Cutter & Buck, Dendreon, Expedia, InfoSpace, Jones Soda, L&L Energy, Liberty Mutual, Micron Technology, Nighthawk Radiology, Nordstrom, OfficeMax, PremierWest Bancorp, Primo Water, Safeco, Sterling Financial, TriQuint Semiconductor, WSB Financial Group, and Zumiez.

Our securities litigation team comprises both lawyers whose practices are devoted to securities litigation and accomplished trial lawyers with a distinct emphasis in securities litigation, including a Fellow of the American College of Trial Lawyers, the former U.S. Attorney for the District of Oregon, and a 20-year Assistant U.S. Attorney.  We have an excellent track record in obtaining dismissals prior to any discovery.  But when a case survives a motion to dismiss, we know how to prepare a case for trial, and our trial lawyers stand ready to try even the largest securities class action.

Our team also includes former senior Securities and Exchange Commission enforcement and Department of Justice officials, and former state securities regulators.  We thus bring great skill and experience to the defense of government enforcement matters, whether it is a stand-alone matter or related to private securities litigation.

Securities Litigation

Beneski, Kristin

Beneski, Kristin

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.7075
beneskik@lanepowell.com
Calo, Robert R.

Calo, Robert R.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2104
calor@lanepowell.com
Davis, Claire Loebs

Davis, Claire Loebs

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7060
davisc@lanepowell.com
Devlin, John S. III

Devlin, John S. III

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.6280
devlinj@lanepowell.com
Downs, Jacob M.

Downs, Jacob M.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7397
downsj@lanepowell.com
Eggum, Susan K.

Eggum, Susan K.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2175
eggums@lanepowell.com
Engbloom, Julie M.

Engbloom, Julie M.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2183
engbloomj@lanepowell.com
Englund, Rudy A.

Englund, Rudy A.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7042
englundr@lanepowell.com
Friedman, Ronald J.

Friedman, Ronald J.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7032
friedmanr@lanepowell.com
Gangnes, Larry S.

Gangnes, Larry S.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7036
gangnesl@lanepowell.com
Greene, Douglas W.

Greene, Douglas W.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.6103
greened@lanepowell.com
Hawkes, Peter

Hawkes, Peter

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2165
hawkesp@lanepowell.com
Larsen, Janet Knauss

Larsen, Janet Knauss

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2154
larsenj@lanepowell.com
Marquez-Garrett, Laura

Marquez-Garrett, Laura

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.6246
marquezgarrettl@lanepowell.com
McBride, Ryan P.

McBride, Ryan P.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7962
mcbrider@lanepowell.com
Morgan, Michael E.

Morgan, Michael E.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7013
morganm@lanepowell.com
Neeleman, John R.

Neeleman, John R.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7985
neelemanj@lanepowell.com
Nesteroff, Michael A.

Nesteroff, Michael A.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.6242
nesteroffm@lanepowell.com
Petranovich, Milo

Petranovich, Milo

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2114
petranovichm@lanepowell.com
Spellman, David C.

Spellman, David C.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7392
spellmand@lanepowell.com
Stark, Anthony M.

Stark, Anthony M.

Attorney
Portland
503.778.2185
starka@lanepowell.com
Urbach, Tanya Durkee

Urbach, Tanya Durkee

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2125
durkeet@lanepowell.com
Walder, Jessica N.

Walder, Jessica N.

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.6282
walderj@lanepowell.com
Wells, Christopher B.

Wells, Christopher B.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7084
wellsc@lanepowell.com
Wilson, Erin M.

Wilson, Erin M.

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.7432
wilsonem@lanepowell.com

Securities Litigation

Date
08.18.2014
07.01.2014
06.13.2014
03.13.2014
08.08.2013
07.23.2013
06.24.2013
06.14.2013
04.16.2013
02.20.2013
12.27.2012
12.04.2012
10.18.2012
08.28.2012
07.05.2012
06.27.2012
06.13.2012
05.25.2012
10.04.2011
08.09.2011

Securities Litigation

Date
03.13.2014
02.27.2014
02.06.2014
12.04.2013
11.01.2013
09.16.2013
09.04.2013
08.23.2013
06.21.2013
04.10.2013
01.30.2013
11.15.2012
11.02.2012
10.30.2012
09.25.2012
08.17.2012
06.21.2011
06.15.2011
04.21.2011
09.13.2010
01.26.2010
01.25.2010
01.05.2010
10.20.2009
03.16.2009
01.16.2008
07.02.2007