Practices & Industries

Practices

Senior Living and Long Term Care

Babb, Warren E. Jr.

Babb, Warren E. Jr.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7089
babbw@lanepowell.com
Bader, Jeremy R.

Bader, Jeremy R.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2131
baderj@lanepowell.com
Bashford, Jonathon

Bashford, Jonathon

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.7127
bashfordj@lanepowell.com
Beyerlein, Jennifer M.

Beyerlein, Jennifer M.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7065
beyerleinj@lanepowell.com
Brecht, Jeff C.D.

Brecht, Jeff C.D.

Counsel to the Firm
Portland
503.778.2162
brechtj@lanepowell.com
Campbell, Scott F.

Campbell, Scott F.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7040
campbells@lanepowell.com
Coughlan, John E.

Coughlan, John E.

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.7381
coughlanj@lanepowell.com
Davis, Paige L.

Davis, Paige L.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7137
davisp@lanepowell.com
Day, Craig A.

Day, Craig A.

Counsel to the Firm
Seattle
206.654.7819
dayc@lanepowell.com
Duffy, Barbara J.

Duffy, Barbara J.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7944
duffyb@lanepowell.com
Edwards, Scott M.

Edwards, Scott M.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7010
edwardss@lanepowell.com
Greenman, Joseph M.

Greenman, Joseph M.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2101
greenmanj@lanepowell.com
Hawkes, Peter

Hawkes, Peter

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2165
hawkesp@lanepowell.com
Huber, Charles C.

Huber, Charles C.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7265
huberc@lanepowell.com
Lipscomb, Kelly M.

Lipscomb, Kelly M.

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.7078
lipscombk@lanepowell.com
Lorber, Abraham K.

Lorber, Abraham K.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7434
lorbera@lanepowell.com
Malkin, Harold

Malkin, Harold

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7277
malkinh@lanepowell.com
Mann, Carter M.

Mann, Carter M.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2156
mannc@lanepowell.com
Marney, Carin A.

Marney, Carin A.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7273
marneyc@lanepowell.com
Mautner, Gail E.

Mautner, Gail E.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7099
mautnerg@lanepowell.com
Morgan, Michael E.

Morgan, Michael E.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7013
morganm@lanepowell.com
Morrow, Andrew J. Jr.

Morrow, Andrew J. Jr.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2163
morrowa@lanepowell.com
Ostroff, Paul M.

Ostroff, Paul M.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2122
ostroffp@lanepowell.com
Powell, Bryan E.

Powell, Bryan E.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2189
powellb@lanepowell.com
Pyle, Gregory T.

Pyle, Gregory T.

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.7719
pyleg@lanepowell.com
Sanchez, Gabriela

Sanchez, Gabriela

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2172
sanchezg@lanepowell.com
Sheffield, Jennifer K.

Sheffield, Jennifer K.

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.6114
sheffieldj@lanepowell.com
Smith, Vicki L.

Smith, Vicki L.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2138
smithv@lanepowell.com
Stevason, John C.

Stevason, John C.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2144
stevasonj@lanepowell.com
Swale, Sarah

Swale, Sarah

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7946
swales@lanepowell.com
Tredway, Kara A.

Tredway, Kara A.

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.7932
tredwayk@lanepowell.com
Winters, Steven B.

Winters, Steven B.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7740
winterss@lanepowell.com

The 65-and-over population is projected to double during the next three decades, according to The National Council On Aging. The senior living and long term care professions are growing exponentially — and becoming increasingly regulated. Ongoing changes in our healthcare laws will add new layers of regulation for years to come.

As the long term care and seniors housing industry continues to grow in size and complexity, providers are facing a corresponding need for skilled and knowledgeable legal counsel.

The Northwest’s Only Dedicated Practice

As the only large law firm in the Pacific Northwest with a dedicated Senior Living and Long Term Care Client Service Team, Lane Powell helps the region’s skilled nursing facilities, assisted living communities, CCRCs, home health companies, active adult communities, senior apartment, and independent living communities manage their business, regulatory, employment and litigation needs.

We have extensive regulatory capabilities. As general counsel for the Washington Health Care Association, Lane Powell has first-hand knowledge of the latest federal and state regulations. The Firm also is an associate member of LeadingAge Washington. In addition, the Chair of our Senior Living and Long Term Care Client Team serves on the Legal Subcommittee for the American Health Care Association and is the chair of the American Health Lawyers Association Long Term Care Practice Group. Lane Powell represents providers in licensure proceedings  — when the company’s ability to operate is at stake. We have also successfully represented providers in challenging rate limitations which the State sought to impose.

Lane Powell has extensive expertise in employment, wage and hour issues, HIPAA compliance and arbitration agreements. Our attorneys stay up-to-date on the latest legal developments impacting the industry, and utilizing this information in advising and representing our clients. We have helped clients avoid wage and hour claims, and assisted with handling terminations and other single employee issues.

Lane Powell has been ranked #1 in Elder Law in Seattle and Washington by The Best Lawyers in America®, based on an exhaustive peer-review survey of more than 24,000 leading attorneys throughout the country.

Attorneys with Proven Housing and Care Experience

Lane Powell’s Senior Living and Long Term Care Client Team offers a comprehensive approach to legal services with experienced attorneys — including former assistant State of Washington attorneys general — who can provide regulatory assistance for interaction with state and federal agencies, including issues such as:

  • Certificate of need disputes.
  • Licensure and certification.
  • Survey and decertification issues.
  • Professional licensing investigations.
  • Fraud and abuse investigations.
  • Compliance review and guidance.
  • Other regulatory issues unique to long term care providers.

Lane Powell’s experienced trial lawyers are prepared to defend employment, vulnerable adult statute and professional negligence claims, False Claims Act, and whistleblower or other litigation matters. The Firm’s corporate attorneys are prepared to address business needs including tax, mergers, site acquisitions and corporate compliance. All of our team members are committed to staying current on the latest industry developments impacting their area of practice.

Committed to Staying Current on Seniors Matters

In order to provide up-to-date advice to our clients, members of the Lane Powell Senior Living and Long Term Care Client Team regularly research and review both industry and government materials and publications. Team members pass this information along as national speakers on topics such as Fair Housing, Survey Certification, Healthcare Reform, Government Investigations, Financial Audits, Medicaid Rate Litigation, Risk Management, and Wage and Hour, as it affects all providers, the long term care workforce and more.

Lane Powell Senior Living and Long Term Care attorneys are active members of the industry’s major trade associations, including:

  • American Health Lawyers Association
  • American Senior Housing Association
  • American Association of Senior Housing and Homes for the Aging
  • American Health Care Association
  • LeadingAge
  • LeadingAge Oregon
  • LeadingAge Washington
  • National Association of Home Care
  • Oregon Association of Home Care
  • Oregon Health Care Association
  • Washington Health Care Association

Lane Powell’s Senior Living and Long Term Care attorneys have the experience to know who the industry decision-makers are and to see the important issues as they emerge, long before clients are forced to react.  The Firm also shares its industry expertise with clients by hosting Continuing Education for Operators as well as in-house seminars and training on long term care issues, and by producing online legal updates that provide clients with the industry’s latest legal news.

Senior Living and Long Term Care

Babb, Warren E. Jr.

Babb, Warren E. Jr.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7089
babbw@lanepowell.com
Bader, Jeremy R.

Bader, Jeremy R.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2131
baderj@lanepowell.com
Bashford, Jonathon

Bashford, Jonathon

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.7127
bashfordj@lanepowell.com
Beyerlein, Jennifer M.

Beyerlein, Jennifer M.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7065
beyerleinj@lanepowell.com
Brecht, Jeff C.D.

Brecht, Jeff C.D.

Counsel to the Firm
Portland
503.778.2162
brechtj@lanepowell.com
Campbell, Scott F.

Campbell, Scott F.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7040
campbells@lanepowell.com
Coughlan, John E.

Coughlan, John E.

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.7381
coughlanj@lanepowell.com
Davis, Paige L.

Davis, Paige L.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7137
davisp@lanepowell.com
Day, Craig A.

Day, Craig A.

Counsel to the Firm
Seattle
206.654.7819
dayc@lanepowell.com
Duffy, Barbara J.

Duffy, Barbara J.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7944
duffyb@lanepowell.com
Edwards, Scott M.

Edwards, Scott M.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7010
edwardss@lanepowell.com
Greenman, Joseph M.

Greenman, Joseph M.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2101
greenmanj@lanepowell.com
Hawkes, Peter

Hawkes, Peter

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2165
hawkesp@lanepowell.com
Huber, Charles C.

Huber, Charles C.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7265
huberc@lanepowell.com
Lipscomb, Kelly M.

Lipscomb, Kelly M.

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.7078
lipscombk@lanepowell.com
Lorber, Abraham K.

Lorber, Abraham K.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7434
lorbera@lanepowell.com
Malkin, Harold

Malkin, Harold

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7277
malkinh@lanepowell.com
Mann, Carter M.

Mann, Carter M.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2156
mannc@lanepowell.com
Marney, Carin A.

Marney, Carin A.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7273
marneyc@lanepowell.com
Mautner, Gail E.

Mautner, Gail E.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7099
mautnerg@lanepowell.com
Morgan, Michael E.

Morgan, Michael E.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7013
morganm@lanepowell.com
Morrow, Andrew J. Jr.

Morrow, Andrew J. Jr.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2163
morrowa@lanepowell.com
Ostroff, Paul M.

Ostroff, Paul M.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2122
ostroffp@lanepowell.com
Powell, Bryan E.

Powell, Bryan E.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2189
powellb@lanepowell.com
Pyle, Gregory T.

Pyle, Gregory T.

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.7719
pyleg@lanepowell.com
Sanchez, Gabriela

Sanchez, Gabriela

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2172
sanchezg@lanepowell.com
Sheffield, Jennifer K.

Sheffield, Jennifer K.

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.6114
sheffieldj@lanepowell.com
Smith, Vicki L.

Smith, Vicki L.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2138
smithv@lanepowell.com
Stevason, John C.

Stevason, John C.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2144
stevasonj@lanepowell.com
Swale, Sarah

Swale, Sarah

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7946
swales@lanepowell.com
Tredway, Kara A.

Tredway, Kara A.

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.7932
tredwayk@lanepowell.com
Winters, Steven B.

Winters, Steven B.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7740
winterss@lanepowell.com

Senior Living and Long Term Care

Date
08.17.2016
07.01.2016
05.03.2016
04.07.2016
03.15.2016
02.04.2016
02.02.2016
01.19.2016
12.10.2015
08.17.2015
04.08.2015
12.18.2014
08.18.2014
01.07.2014
12.23.2013
12.17.2013
08.15.2013
07.11.2013
10.02.2012
08.28.2012

Senior Living and Long Term Care

Date
09.13.2016
05.05.2016
04.01.2016
03.15.2016
02.12.2016
02.12.2016
02.12.2016
05.08.2015
06.02.2014
05.29.2014
03.04.2014
09.27.2013
09.13.2013
08.30.2013
07.16.2012
09.26.2011
05.09.2011
11.05.2010
07.07.2010
05.12.2010
01.13.2010
01.08.2010
12.04.2009
10.22.2009
10.20.2009
07.30.2009
03.11.2009
09.01.2008
03.13.2008
02.07.2008
09.05.2007
08.14.2007
08.14.2007
07.26.2007
04.06.2007
11.01.2006
10.16.2006
07.14.2006
05.30.2006
05.10.2006
05.05.2006
03.30.2006
12.07.2005
10.21.2005
10.05.2005
09.01.2005
08.31.2005
08.05.2005
03.29.2005
03.14.2005
01.28.2005
11.01.2004
11.01.2004
08.01.2004
08.01.2004
08.01.2004

Senior Living and Long Term Care

Date
09.19.2016
05.19.2016
05.17.2016
05.17.2016
05.03.2016
04.17.2016
03.04.2016
03.03.2016
02.24.2016
02.22.2016
09.15.2015
08.10.2015
07.10.2015
04.29.2015
04.20.2015
12.04.2014
09.23.2014
09.10.2014
09.09.2014
07.15.2014