Practices & Industries

Practices

Financial Institutions

Abbott, Barry A.

Abbott, Barry A.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7988
abbottb@lanepowell.com
Anderson, Heidi C.

Anderson, Heidi C.

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.2550
andersonh@lanepowell.com
Barber, Niccolo F.

Barber, Niccolo F.

Attorney
Portland
503.778.2181
barbern@lanepowell.com
Campbell, Scott F.

Campbell, Scott F.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7040
campbells@lanepowell.com
Crim, Gordon E.

Crim, Gordon E.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2143
crimg@lanepowell.com
Davis, Paige L.

Davis, Paige L.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7137
davisp@lanepowell.com
Devlin, John S. III

Devlin, John S. III

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.6280
devlinj@lanepowell.com
Ekberg, Charles R.

Ekberg, Charles R.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7012
ekbergc@lanepowell.com
Engbloom, Julie M.

Engbloom, Julie M.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2183
engbloomj@lanepowell.com
Englund, Rudy A.

Englund, Rudy A.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7042
englundr@lanepowell.com
Fox, Gregory R.

Fox, Gregory R.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7129
foxg@lanepowell.com
French, Pilar C.

French, Pilar C.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2170
frenchp@lanepowell.com
Gangnes, Larry S.

Gangnes, Larry S.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7036
gangnesl@lanepowell.com
Grohman, Thomas F.

Grohman, Thomas F.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7044
grohmant@lanepowell.com
Haglund, Kenneth R. Jr.

Haglund, Kenneth R. Jr.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2148
haglundk@lanepowell.com
Heston, Mary Jo

Heston, Mary Jo

Shareholder
Seattle/Portland
206.223.7015
hestonm@lanepowell.com
Kittle, Daniel A.

Kittle, Daniel A.

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.7074
kittled@lanepowell.com
Leaverton, Bruce W.

Leaverton, Bruce W.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7389
leavertonb@lanepowell.com
Lenhart, Benjamin G.

Lenhart, Benjamin G.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2052
lenhartb@lanepowell.com
Lindquist, Malcolm C.

Lindquist, Malcolm C.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7101
lindquistm@lanepowell.com
Lipscomb, Kelly M.

Lipscomb, Kelly M.

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.7078
lipscombk@lanepowell.com
Maloney, Robert E. Jr.

Maloney, Robert E. Jr.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2105
maloneyr@lanepowell.com
Mautner, Gail E.

Mautner, Gail E.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7099
mautnerg@lanepowell.com
Morrow, Andrew J. Jr.

Morrow, Andrew J. Jr.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2163
morrowa@lanepowell.com
Nusich, Lee C.

Nusich, Lee C.

Counsel to the Firm
Portland
503.778.2119
nusichl@lanepowell.com
Odom, Jeffrey M.

Odom, Jeffrey M.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7093
odomj@lanepowell.com
Parise, Michael

Parise, Michael

Shareholder
Anchorage
907.264.3322
parisem@lanepowell.com
Powell, Bryan E.

Powell, Bryan E.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2189
powellb@lanepowell.com
Reilly, D. Michael

Reilly, D. Michael

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7051
reillym@lanepowell.com
Robinson, Joan E.

Robinson, Joan E.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.6277
robinsonj@lanepowell.com
Seidenstein, Julie H.

Seidenstein, Julie H.

Counsel to the Firm
Seattle
206.223.7080
seidensteinj@lanepowell.com
Silvey, Michael R.

Silvey, Michael R.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2195
silveym@lanepowell.com
Spellman, David C.

Spellman, David C.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7392
spellmand@lanepowell.com
Spencer, Cliff E.

Spencer, Cliff E.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2197
spencerc@lanepowell.com
Stephens, Stephanie

Stephens, Stephanie

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7384
stephenss@lanepowell.com
Tanner, Skyler M.

Tanner, Skyler M.

Attorney
Portland
503.778.2106
tanners@lanepowell.com
Wolfstone, Jeffrey C.

Wolfstone, Jeffrey C.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2153
wolfstonej@lanepowell.com

We are the regional firm with a global perspective, featuring a team of nationally recognized public and private Financial Institutions Law attorneys who can offer:

  • An in-house counsel perspective:  Knowing what it is like to be in a lender’s shoes. We pride ourselves on having attorneys who are former in-house counsel for financial institutions. This kind of in-depth, real-world experience is invaluable when it comes to understanding industry procedures, risks and litigation concerns.
  • Deep industry knowledge:  In addition to a deep understanding of financial institutions, we also have a thorough working knowledge of many of the businesses in which those financial institutions do business, including the insurance, forest products, fishing, mining, petroleum, real estate development and construction industries. Lane Powell attorneys address regional issues with an appreciation of national and international financial trends.

Broad Areas of Financial Law Experience

Lane Powell’s financial law attorneys have extensive experience in areas of direct interest to financial institutions, such as:

  • Bank Facilities and Other Real Estate Owned (OREO)
  • Commercial Lending/Financing (including asset-based and equipment finance; aircraft and marine vessel finance; and commercial real estate)
  • Consumer Lending
  • Corporate Governance Specific to Financial Institutions
  • Debtor/Creditor Rights and Bankruptcy
  • Interest Rate Swaps
  • Lender Liability Litigation
  • Letters of Credit
  • Mergers and Acquisitions of Banks and Branches
  • Regulatory Compliance
  • Trust and Fiduciary Services
  • Uniform Commercial Code

Plus, with Lane Powell’s long-standing interdisciplinary structure, clients obtain counsel across a broad array of disciplines affecting financial institutions, among them:

  • Antitrust
  • Corporate Finance
  • Corporate Real Estate
  • Environmental Law
  • ERISA
  • International Law
  • Intellectual Property and Technology
  • Labor and Employment
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Pension Fund Management
  • Privacy and HIPAA Compliance
  • Securities Law Compliance
  • Tax Law (both state and federal)

If the situation requires litigation, Lane Powell offers a talented team of trial attorneys who have accrued records of success across several areas of financial law. For example, the Firm’s class-action defense attorneys are widely respected and have defended more than 100 class-action lawsuits in state and federal courts, and our lawyers have been heavily involved in all aspects of MERS (Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems) litigation.

Strong Financial Law Affiliations

Lane Powell’s Financial Law attorneys are active members of important associations to keep closely in tune with the industry. These long-term affiliations keep the Firm’s attorneys abreast of current laws and regulations and help them maintain proactive stances for their clients rather than reactive ones. Among current affiliations are:

  • Community Bankers of Washington
  • Washington Bankers Association
  • Oregon Bankers Association
  • American Council of Bankruptcy Attorneys
  • Equipment Leasing  and Finance Association
  • Association of Commercial Finance Attorneys
  • American Law Institute
  • American College of Trial Lawyers
  • American College of Commercial Finance Lawyers
  • American College of Consumer Financial Services Lawyers
  • Governing Committee of the Conference on Consumer Finance Law
  • World Law Group
  • U.S. Law Firm Group

Above all, Lane Powell’s Financial Law group offers the level of responsive, client-focused service that can genuinely help clients in difficult times and in times of opportunity.

Financial Institutions

Abbott, Barry A.

Abbott, Barry A.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7988
abbottb@lanepowell.com
Anderson, Heidi C.

Anderson, Heidi C.

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.2550
andersonh@lanepowell.com
Barber, Niccolo F.

Barber, Niccolo F.

Attorney
Portland
503.778.2181
barbern@lanepowell.com
Campbell, Scott F.

Campbell, Scott F.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7040
campbells@lanepowell.com
Crim, Gordon E.

Crim, Gordon E.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2143
crimg@lanepowell.com
Davis, Paige L.

Davis, Paige L.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7137
davisp@lanepowell.com
Devlin, John S. III

Devlin, John S. III

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.6280
devlinj@lanepowell.com
Ekberg, Charles R.

Ekberg, Charles R.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7012
ekbergc@lanepowell.com
Engbloom, Julie M.

Engbloom, Julie M.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2183
engbloomj@lanepowell.com
Englund, Rudy A.

Englund, Rudy A.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7042
englundr@lanepowell.com
Fox, Gregory R.

Fox, Gregory R.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7129
foxg@lanepowell.com
French, Pilar C.

French, Pilar C.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2170
frenchp@lanepowell.com
Gangnes, Larry S.

Gangnes, Larry S.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7036
gangnesl@lanepowell.com
Grohman, Thomas F.

Grohman, Thomas F.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7044
grohmant@lanepowell.com
Haglund, Kenneth R. Jr.

Haglund, Kenneth R. Jr.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2148
haglundk@lanepowell.com
Heston, Mary Jo

Heston, Mary Jo

Shareholder
Seattle/Portland
206.223.7015
hestonm@lanepowell.com
Kittle, Daniel A.

Kittle, Daniel A.

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.7074
kittled@lanepowell.com
Leaverton, Bruce W.

Leaverton, Bruce W.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7389
leavertonb@lanepowell.com
Lenhart, Benjamin G.

Lenhart, Benjamin G.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2052
lenhartb@lanepowell.com
Lindquist, Malcolm C.

Lindquist, Malcolm C.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7101
lindquistm@lanepowell.com
Lipscomb, Kelly M.

Lipscomb, Kelly M.

Attorney
Seattle
206.223.7078
lipscombk@lanepowell.com
Maloney, Robert E. Jr.

Maloney, Robert E. Jr.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2105
maloneyr@lanepowell.com
Mautner, Gail E.

Mautner, Gail E.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7099
mautnerg@lanepowell.com
Morrow, Andrew J. Jr.

Morrow, Andrew J. Jr.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2163
morrowa@lanepowell.com
Nusich, Lee C.

Nusich, Lee C.

Counsel to the Firm
Portland
503.778.2119
nusichl@lanepowell.com
Odom, Jeffrey M.

Odom, Jeffrey M.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7093
odomj@lanepowell.com
Parise, Michael

Parise, Michael

Shareholder
Anchorage
907.264.3322
parisem@lanepowell.com
Powell, Bryan E.

Powell, Bryan E.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2189
powellb@lanepowell.com
Reilly, D. Michael

Reilly, D. Michael

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7051
reillym@lanepowell.com
Robinson, Joan E.

Robinson, Joan E.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.6277
robinsonj@lanepowell.com
Seidenstein, Julie H.

Seidenstein, Julie H.

Counsel to the Firm
Seattle
206.223.7080
seidensteinj@lanepowell.com
Silvey, Michael R.

Silvey, Michael R.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2195
silveym@lanepowell.com
Spellman, David C.

Spellman, David C.

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7392
spellmand@lanepowell.com
Spencer, Cliff E.

Spencer, Cliff E.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2197
spencerc@lanepowell.com
Stephens, Stephanie

Stephens, Stephanie

Shareholder
Seattle
206.223.7384
stephenss@lanepowell.com
Tanner, Skyler M.

Tanner, Skyler M.

Attorney
Portland
503.778.2106
tanners@lanepowell.com
Wolfstone, Jeffrey C.

Wolfstone, Jeffrey C.

Shareholder
Portland
503.778.2153
wolfstonej@lanepowell.com

Financial Institutions

Date
10.19.2016
08.17.2016
06.10.2016
04.27.2016
02.29.2016
11.02.2015
08.17.2015
06.12.2015
08.18.2014
06.13.2014
05.15.2014
11.01.2013
08.15.2013
06.14.2013
05.07.2013
11.01.2012
08.28.2012
07.20.2012
07.10.2012
02.29.2012

Financial Institutions

Date
12.01.2016
10.19.2016
06.24.2016
03.24.2016
02.24.2016
10.20.2015
04.07.2015
01.08.2015
12.29.2014
11.04.2014
10.21.2014
08.27.2014
06.12.2014
06.11.2014
06.11.2014
05.30.2014
02.28.2014
02.27.2014
12.18.2013
11.12.2013
09.16.2013
07.02.2013
06.19.2013
06.12.2013
04.12.2013
03.20.2013
12.19.2012
08.15.2012
06.08.2012
03.07.2012
02.22.2012
12.27.2011
09.26.2011
08.31.2011
06.30.2011
06.14.2011
04.18.2011
01.27.2011
12.16.2010
11.11.2010
08.02.2010
12.14.2009
12.11.2009
08.19.2009
08.04.2009
06.16.2009
06.12.2009
06.05.2009
03.05.2009
02.19.2009
01.23.2009
12.05.2008
10.07.2008
08.01.2008
07.18.2008
11.19.2007
10.31.2007
10.17.2007